About Us

Serving as a vital community center welcoming every member of the community, the Champaign Public Library ranks in the top 3% of public libraries nationwide and earns a 4-star rating from Library Journal.

Learn about our locations, and sign up to get our newsletter. We’ve grown by leaps and bounds since opening a beautiful new library in 2008!

CPL Mobile App

Our free app is an easy way to check your due dates, renew and request items, download ebooks, and more. Get the app at champaign.boopsie.com.

Map & Directions


Meeting & Study Rooms


Library News


Library Board


Jobs at the Library


Main Library


Douglass Branch Library




Wi-Fi & Computers






Our History


Practicums for Library Students


Mission & Plan


La Biblioteca (información en español)


Library Journal Star Library designation, 2015

Información en español

Spanish print-friendly PDF


200 W. Green St.
Champaign 61820
M-W   9 – 9
Th-F   9–6
Sat   10 – 6
Sun   1 – 6
The Café at the Library is open
during all library hours

504 E. Grove St.
Champaign 61820
M-Tu   10 – 8
W-F   10 – 6
Sat   10 – 4
About the Branch

Lower Level, Main Library
W-Sat   11 – 5
Sun   1:30 – 5
About the FriendShop

Holiday Closings

The library will be closed; our book returns will stay open. 


Fri., Jan. 1
Mon., Jan. 18
Sun., Mar. 27
Mon., May 30
Mon., Jul. 4
Mon., Sep. 5
Fri., Nov. 11
Thu., Nov. 24
Sat., Dec. 24
Sun., Dec. 25
Sat., Dec. 31 (closing at 5 pm)

We’re a Part of…

The library is part of the
City of Champaign
and a member of the
Illinois Heartland Library System, a regional system funded by the Illinois State Library.

Follow Us

twitter logo

facebook logo

pinterest logo

See Our Ratings & Add Your Own

Trip Advisor logo

Yelp logo